My World (Feminine Style)

Thoughts about love, liberty, disco

For such a time as this… June 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — katiereich @ 8:14 pm

In what way might God be saying “I have brought you to the kingdom for just such a time as this?”
 
“In A Time for Risking, Miriam Adeney comments that, ‘Only those who turn down standard activities will have time and energy for priority affairs.’ She offers this challenge: For you, kingdom priorities might mean saying no to talking on the telephone so much. Or saying no to well-established committees in order to serve on more needy committees. Saying no to certain kinds of reading in order to do other, more crucial reading. Saying no to thinking so much about how you feel or about the way you look– saying no to your “pity parties.” Kingdom priorities might mean monitoring your imagination and bringing every thought captive to Christ (2 Corinthians 10:5). It might mean limiting the time you spend thinking about fashion, shopping, romance, eating out, backpacking, gardening, skiing, soap operas, novels, gossip, or whatever catches your imagination, in order consciously to focus a certain amount of your thoughts on people’s need for Jesus, on world hunger, on nuclear weapon dangers, on teenage mothers. Kingdom priorities may mean saying no to spending so much time with certain friends in order to spend time with friends who need you more. Or limiting your mindless conversations, in order consciously to make your conversations channels of grace.” (As quoted in The Truth’s that Free Us, Ruth Haley Barton.)
 
God has been speaking to my heart and into my life in a multitude of ways that can lead me to only one conclusion; my desire is too weak… “We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.” (The Weight of Glory, CS Lewis) My fooling about has been with the need and desire to do and get things done. I feel like I have been running while saying to God, I hope that you are here with me, because right now I don’t really have the time or energy to see where You are leading. How ironic that all along He was leading me home; to a place of peace and less busyness. To a place that I can rest and have margins in my life to experience Him and allow Him to speak into my life.
 
All of the conversations, Bible study, books, podcasts and sermons have been speaking to me in a way that is making clear the place that I am in now; which for the time being is to relish in my role of being a stay at home mom, and the wife to a lead pastor. So this is my coming out! Letting go of what is behind and striving for what is ahead. I hope that you enjoy this journey as much as I know that I will.

 

Leave a Reply

