My World (Feminine Style)

Thoughts about love, liberty, disco

Monday and meal planning! June 29, 2009

I am trying to get a rhythm for posting on different topics. As you saw on my last post, Sundays will be dedicated to reviewing the sermon, and I think that Mondays will be fun tid-bits about how I structure and create organization around our house! So we will start this first Monday with a few meals that I plan to prepare for the week. Usually I plan at least a week and a half worth of meals and that will get us through 2 weeks. This past weekend was a great time to stock up on much needed meat. So here are a few recipes:

-BBQ chicken breasts, corn on the cob, lemon pepper broccoli and Grands rolls

Lemon Pepper Broccoli(This is one of our favorites given to us by the Daleys)

Cook about 2 heads of cut broccoli in 1/2 cup water for about 6 minutes. Remove broccoli from pan. Melt 1 Tblsp butter in pan, add 2-3 cloves of garlic and saute for a few minutes. Add 1/4 tsp of salt and pepper; mix in broccoli and juice from 1/2 lemon. Sprinkle with lemon rind and enjoy!

BBQ Pork Ribs, corn on the cob, and probably a fruit salad

-For the 4th of July, Revolution Church Picnic, I will be making a double batch of the Big Bean Pot and Texas Sheet Cake.

Big Bean Pot

1/2 pkg. Bacon diced, 3 med. onions, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp dry mustard, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup katsup, 1/2 cup cidar vinegar, 15.5 oz can kidney beans drained, 15.5 oz can butter beans*, drained, 2-21 oz can pork and beans

Heat oven to 350. In dutch oven saute bacon and onions, drain. Add remaining ingrediants & mix well. Cook uncovered for 60-70 minutes or until hot and bubbly**.

*I cannot seem to find butter beans in Tucson, so I usually pick some kind of white bean instead.

**If I plan ahead I usually will make this in a crockpot, then I the oven is free for other things and I can serve it out of the crockpot as well. 

That is all I have for now…

 

Leave a Reply

